Jeevan Ram Shrestha elected new NOC president

- Post Report, Kathmandu

Jeevan Ram Shrestha has been elected as the new President of Nepal Olympic Committee (NOC) for a four-year term.
Incumbent General Secretary Shrestha defeated Vice President Umesh Lal Shrestha during an election today. He secured 17 of the 26 votes.
Dhirendra Pradhan, Purendra Bikarm Lakhey, Jyoti Rana and Rajendra Bantawa have been unanimously selected as the Vice Presidents.
Tendi Sherpa also won the General Secretary post in the election. He secured 17 votes. Two other General Secretary candidates Chimi Urgen and Dipraj Gurung secured eight and one vote respectively.
Rajiv Shrestha won the lucky draw for the Joint Secretary post. The draw was conducted after he and another candidate Chaturananda Vaidhya both secured 13 votes each.

Published: 2015-09-03 12:47:22