NC forms panel to hold PP leader election

- Post Report, KATHMANDU
NC forms panel to hold PP leader election

Jan 18, 2014-

Nepali Congress, the largest party in Constituent Assembly, has formed a three member panel to elect its Party Parliamentary Leader and working committee through election by January 26.

However, the party will continuously make an effort to pick the unanimous PP leader by consensus, said party leaders.

A meeting of party Central Working Committee (CWC) on Saturday formed a panel headed by CWC member Dilendra Prasad Badu who is also the spokesperson of the party. Members of the panel are Ramesh Rijal and Ram Chandra Tiwari.

According to NC's statute and its article no 5(3), the CWC has formed a committee to elect the party PP leader and its other functionary, said a CWC decision. "We will sit soon and will make public the election schedule," said Badu.

Besides, PP leader, according to the party statue, it has to elect 5 members from each five development region and 12 from various backgrounds like gender, region, ethnicity and underrepresented groups. Some members of the party parliamentary committee will be nominated by the PP leader.

Party President Sushil Koirala, senior leader and former Prime Minister Sher Bahadur Deuba and Vice President Ram Chandra Poudel have expressed desire to be the PP leader. Several rounds of talks between Koirala, Deuba and Poudel have failed to find an agreeable solution to the candidacy row.

Addressing the CWC meeting, party President Sushil Koirala said that party will its best to pick unanimous PP leader through consensus. "I have told Sher Bahadurji and Ram Chandraji to select the parliamentary leader unanimously. If we can do that it will give positive message outside and will do good for the party too," said Koirala.

Koirala also sought support from Deuba and Poudel for his PP leader bid but both had maintained silence over Koirala's request.


According to NC statute, the PP leader is the only legitimate PM candidate for the party.

As the largest party in the new Constituent Assembly, the NC has staked its claim to the post of prime minister but has failed to pick a unanimous candidate. As a result, the party is yet to prepare and present a power-sharing package to the CPN-UML and other parties.

Though the party decided to go for polls to elect its PP leaders, there was immense pressure from the party leaders and CWC members to select the PP leader by consensus and unopposed. "That is why we are taking nine more days to reach in a consensus. I hope that we will reach in a consensus by that time," said party Joint General Secreatry, Purna Bahadur Khadka.

Those who expressed their view on Saturday like Ram Saran Mahat, Arjun Nar Singh KC, Mahesh Acharya, Nara Hari Acharya, Deep Kuamar Uphadhya, Minendra Rijal, Sasanka Koirala, Amod Prasad Uphadhay and Gagan Thapa also stressed a unity and consensus among top three leaders and advised them not to go for polls at any cost.

On the same occasion, the party also distributed certificates to 91 lawmakers nominated by the party under Proportional Representative category. Addressing the program, senior party leader Deuba said that party will not backtrack from earlier commitments like federalism, republicanism, inclusiveness and committed to deliver a new constitution as promised made to the people during the election and sought active participation and help from the lawmakers.

The party is under pressure to draft a constitution by a year and to this end we have to draft a democratic constitution by that time, said Deuba.

The party is giving training to all 196 lawmakers on Sunday where matters like what Constituent Assembly is, parliamentary process, its practice, lawmakers role to be played in CA and legislative - parliament and other.  


Published: 18-01-2014 21:59

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment

Main News