CAN names squad for ACC event

- Post Report, KATHMANDU

Jan 23, 2014-

Rubina Chhetri, who had led the senior women’s team twice before, retained captaincy for the ACC Women’s Premier Cricket Trophy scheduled for February 1-19 in Thailand.

Cricket Association of Nepal (CAN) announced a 14-member squad on Wednesday with wicketkeeper Mamta  Thapa named as vice-captain. Others in the squad include Sonu Khadka, Rekha Rawal, Sobha Aale, Mamta Chaudhary, Neera Rajopadh-yay, Sarita Magar, Sita Rana Magar, Karuna Bhandari, Trishna Singh, Kabita Gautam, Saraswoti Chaud-hary and Kajol Shrestha.

Kabita, Saraswoti Chaudhary and Kajol Shrestha will make the senior team debut.

Kabita have the experience of playing in the ACC U-19 Women’s in 2012. Jyoti Pandey and Anjali Chand, who struck centuries in the recently concluded national tournament were ignored and were instead kept as reserves.

Allrounder Nary Thapa was left out for the first time due to ankle injury she sustained in the final of the national tournament.


Published: 23-01-2014 09:16

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment