Shrestha clinches CMS Open title

- Post Report, KATHMANDU

Mar 14, 2014-

Top-ranked pro Shiva Ram Shrestha edged Sanjay Lama in playoff to clinch the CMS Open golf tournament at the par-72 Gokarna Golf Club on Thursday.

The tournament was forced into the playoff after the Royal Nepal Golf  Club (RNGC) pro Shrestha and Tribhuvan Army Officers Golf Club (TAOGC) golfer Lama were tied at one-over 289 after the fourth and final round on Thursday. In the playoff, played on the par-3 10th hole, Shrestha shot within a foot of the pin after Lama overhit the green. After Lam failed to find the green in his second attempt, Shrestha completed the victory with a birdie putt. The victory was Shrestha’s 26th career title and fifth of the season.

Earlier, Nepal No 1 Shrestha earned the playoff chance with a par on the final hole where overnight leader Ram Thapa and Sanjay both dropped a shot. Shrestha carded one-under 71, Lama shot one-over 73 and Thapa faltered to three-over 75. It was a remarkable win for Shrestha considering that the RNGC pro was three strokes off the pace after the third round.  

Shrestha carded three birdies against four bogeys on the front nine, while he had two birdies and a bogey on the back nine. Shrestha earned Rs 100,000 for his effort, while runner-up Lama got Rs 72,000. Thapa finished third at two-over 290 and received Rs 54,000. Ramesh Adhikari carded two-under 70 to finish fourth at 294 and got Rs 42,000, while Surya Prasad Sharma (77) and Nepal No 2 Rabi Khadka (73) finished tied for fifth at eight-over 296. Both Sharma and Khadka took home Rs 22,500 each.

Ram Krishna Shrestha (76) and Purna Sharma (74) finished tied for seventh at 299, while Ramesh Nagarkoti (74), Sachin Bhattarai (73) and Umesh Nagarkoti (67) shared the ninth place at 12-over 300. Bikash Bogati won the amateur category with a total card of 302. Bogati carded even-par 72 on Thursday. Mithun Rai (76) was second at 304, while Sanjeev CK (80) third at 310.

The eighth event under the Surya Nepal Golf Tour 2013-14 has been sponsored by the College of Medical Sciences and Teaching Hospital.


Published: 14-03-2014 09:36

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment