Govt declares 72 new municipalities (with list)

- Ekantipur Report, KATHMANDU
Govt declares 72 new municipalities (with list)

May 8, 2014-

The government has announced 72 new municipalities across the country. A Cabinet meeting held at Singha Durbar on Thursday announced the new municipilities incluidng 41 declared earlier but unimplemented.

With this announcement, the number of municipalities all over the country has reached to 130.

The Cabinet meet endorsed the proposal tabled by Minister for Federal Affairs and Local Development Prakash Man Singh in view of developing villages into urban areas.

The government merged 283 VDCs into 72 municipalities as per the recommendation made by a panel led by Prof Keshavananda Giri.

However, the announcement of four proposed municipalities--Manthali of Ramechhap, Shankharapur of Kathmandu, Karya Binayak and Champapur of Lalitpur districts--could not take place due to criterion disputes.

The government has formed a Municipal Area Determination and Recommendation Committee under Professor Keshav Nanda Giri to settle the disputes and recommend the VDCs that fulfill the infrastructural criteria to be a municipality.

The members of the committee include Joint- Secretary at the Ministry that looks after the municipality division, Joint- Secretary at Urban Development Ministry, deputy general director at Department of Survey, Chairman of the municipality association and vice secretary and member secretary of the Ministry's municipality division.

The committee has been given one month time to submit its recommendation.

List of newly announced municipalities:

1. Taplejung Municipality      - Taplejung district

2. Phidim Municipality           - Panchthar district

3. Urlabari Municipality          -Morang district

4. Myanglung Municipality     -Terhathum district

5. Bhojpur Municipality           -Bhojpur district

6. Diktel Municipality              -Khotang district

7. Katari Municipality              -Udayapur district

8. Shambhunath Municipality  -Saptari district

9. Hariwan Municipality          -Sarlahi district

10. Chandrapur Municipality      -Rautahat district

11. Gadimai Municipality           -Bara district

12. Chautara Municipality           -Sindhupalchowk district

13. Panchkhal Municipality         -Kavre district

14. Nilkantha Municipality          -Dhading district

15. Shuklagandaki Municipality  -Tanahun district

16. Bandipur Municipality            - Tanahun district

17. Kushma Municipality             -Parbat district

18. Resunga Municipality             -Gulmi district

19. Sandhikharka Municipality     -Arghakhanchi district

20. Kohalpur Municipality            -Banke district

21. Sunwal Municipality                -Nawalparasi district

22. Sharada Municipality               -Salyan district

23. Mangalsen Municipality           -Achham district

24. Sanphebagar Municipality         -Achham district

25. Kanchanpur Municipality          -Saptari district

26. Mirchaiya Municipality             -Siraha district

27. Dhanusadham Municipality       -Dhanusa district

28. Chireshowrnath Municipality    -Dhanusa district

29. Gaushala Municipality               -Mahottari district

30. Beshisahar Municipality            -Lamjung district

31. Gaindakot Municiaplity             -Nawalparasi

32. Rajapur Municipality                  -Bardiya district

33. Jayaprithvi Municipality            -Bajhang district

34. Chandannath Municipality         -Jumla district

35. Pyuthan Municipality                 -Pyuthan district

36. Suryodaya Municipality             -Ilam district

37. Shani-Arjun Municipality           -Jhapa district

38. Kankai Municipaity                    -Jhapa district

39. Chainpur Municipality                -Sankhuwasabha district

40. Belbari Municipality                    -Morang district

41. Pathari Shanischare Municipality –Morang district

42. Koshi-Haraicha Municipality    -Morang district

43. Rangeli Municipality                 -Morang district

44. Sundar-Dulari Municipality       -Morang district

45. Duhabi-Bhaluwa Municipality   -Sunsari district

46. Siddhicharan Municipality         -Okhaldhunga district

47. Beltar-Basaha Municipality          -Udayapur district

48. Lalbandi Municipaity                   -Sarlahi district

49 Ishworpur Municipality                 -Sarlahi district

50. Thaha Municipality                      -Makwanpur district

51. Nijgad Municipality                      -Bara district

52. Khairahani Municipality               -Chitwan district

53.Chitrawan Municipality                 -Chitwan district

54. Chapakot Municipality                  -Syangja district

55. Rampur Municipality                     -Palpa district

56. Kawasoti Municipality                   -Nawalparasi district

57. Devchuli Municipality                    -Nawalparasi district

58. Bardaghat Municipality                  -Nawalparasi district

59. Sainamaina Municipality                -Rupandehi district

60. Lumbini Sanskritik Municipality    -Rupandehi district

61. Devdaha Municipality                     -Rupandehi district

62. Tilottama Municipality                    -Rupandehi district

63. Krishnanagar Municipality              -Kapilvastu district

64. Shivaraj Municipality                       -Kapilvastu district

65. Dullu Municipality                            -Dailekh district

66. Lamki-Chuha Municipality               -Kailali district

67. Attariya Municipality                         -Kailali district

68. Api Municipality                               -Darchula district

69. Punarbas Municipality                      -Kanchanpur district

70. Belauri Municipality                         -Kanchanpur district

71. Birtamod Municipality                      -Jhapa district

72. Beni Municipality                              -Myagdi district






Published: 08-05-2014 17:02

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment

Main News