Parliamentary committees to get leaders on Aug 20

- Ekantipur Report, KATHMANDU
Parliamentary committees to get leaders on Aug 20

Aug 13, 2014-

The parliamentary committees under the Legislature-Parliament are set to get leadership after a hiatus of eight months. The committees, in the lack of leadership, have not been able to work in an effective manner.

As per the schedule, elections will be held on August 20 for electing the chairpersons of the parliamentary committees. Only Public Accounts Committee (PAC) amongst the 11 thematic committees has chairperson.

The major political parties have finally reached an informal understanding on allocating leadership of the parliamentary committees. According to a Nepali Congress leader, parties have agreed on providing leadership of one committee to Rastriya Prajatantra Party-Nepal, the fourth largest party in the Constituent Assembly-cum Legislature-Parliament.

According to the agreement reached amongst the major parties, NC and UML—coalition allies of the incumbent Sushil Koirala-led government, will get leadership of four committees each while the major opposition UCPN (Maoist) will get leadership of two committees.

UCPN (M) leader Janardan Sharma is the chairperson of the PAC. Speaker Subash Chandra Nembang had been repeatedly urging the political leadership to forge consensus on the leadership of the thematic committees under the Legislature-Parliament.



Published: 13-08-2014 16:43

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment

Main News