PHSC to draw attention regarding NHRC recommendations

- Ekantipur Report, KATHMANDU
PHSC to draw attention regarding NHRC recommendations

Oct 10, 2014-

The Parliamentary Hearing Special Committee (PHSC) has decided to draw the attention of the Constitutional Council (CC) regarding the latter's recommendations for new appointments at the National Human Rights Commission (NHRC).

A meeting of the committee on Friday took a decision to this regard after the members of the parliament (MPs) present in the meeting expressed serious dissatisfactions over the nomination, citing it is not inclusive.

The parliamentarians accused of violation of the principle of inclusiveness and influence of political interests in the nomination for the NHRC chairperson and other members.

Over two-third of legislators among those present in the meeting expressed their objections to the 'exclusion' of Madheshi, ethnic and marginalised communities in the September 21 recommendation and demanded the PHSC to send back the CC proposal. Their voices were for seeking a middle way to calm down the situation.

Former Chief Justice Anup Raj Sharma has been recommended for the NHRC chairperson and Prakash Chandra Wasti, Sudip Pathak, Mohana Ansari and Govinda Sharma have been nominated as members.

The legislators said the recommendation process itself was wrong and against the spirit of the Interim Constitution of Nepal-2007.

MPs Sushil Kumar Shrestha, Gopal Dahit, Mahendra Yadav, Meghraj Nepali Nishad, Manju Kumari Chaudhary, Jayant Chand, Shivaji Yadav, Hridayram Thani, Lokmani Dhakal, Laxman Lal Karna, Ram Kumar Bhattarai, Prabhu Saha and Amarsingh Pun called on the PHSC not to accept the CC recommendation.

However, chief whips and some leaders from the Nepali Congress, CPN-UML and UCPN (Maoist) were in favour of the immediate approval of the recommendation to pave way for the formation of the Truth and Reconciliation Commission and the Commission of Inquiry on Disappearances.

Nepali Congress lawmaker and chief whip Chinkaji Shrestha, leader Prakash Sharan Mahat, UML chief whip Agni Kharel, and UCPN (M) parliamentary board secretary Agni Prasad Sapkota were in line of endorsing the CC decision keeping in mind the national necessity though it was not inclusive.

Meanwhile, the PHSC Secretariat has received eight complaints against the proposed candidates for the posts of NHRC chairperson and members. Sharma, recommended for the post of chairperson, has two complaints against his name, Wasti has two while one complaint is filed against Pathak and three related to the policy matter.  

The PHSC has summoned its next meeting for October 13.


Published: 10-10-2014 16:29

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment

Main News