PHSC endorses names of NHRC office bearers

- Ekantipur Report, KATHMANDU
PHSC endorses names of NHRC office bearers

Oct 17, 2014-

The Parliamentary Hearing Special Committee (PHSC) has endorsed the names recommended for the post of the new office-bearers at the National Human Rights Commission (NHRC) on Friday.

The Constitutional Council had recommended former Chief Justice of the Supreme Court, Anup Raj Sharma, as the chairman and Prakash Chandra Wasti, Sudip Pathak, Mohana Ansari and Govinda Sharma as the members of the Commission.

Wasti is also a former Justice of the Supreme Court while Pathak is a human rights activist. Ansari was a member of the National Women's Commission while Sharma has been teaching law at the Tribhuvan University since the past two decades.

Founded in 2057 B.S., this is the fourth occasion that the government has appointed a new set of office-bearers at the constitutional body.



Published: 17-10-2014 16:59

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment

Main News