CC nominates former secy Mainali to head PSC

CC nominates former secy Mainali to head PSC

Feb 26, 2015-

The Constitutional Council has nominated former government Home Secretary Umesh Mainali to head the Public Service Commission (PSC). The decision to recommend Mainali from Kavrepalanchowk to the post was made in accordance with Article 125 (2) of the Interim Constitution of Nepal 2007.

Likewise, Brinda Hada Bhattarai (Kathmandu), Govinda Kusum (Kathmandu), Sripurush Dhakal (Lalitpur), Ashok Kumar Jha (Saptari), Brahmadev Raya (Sarlahi) and Srikrishna Chandra Jha (Dhanusa) have been nominated for the post of members of the constitutional body, according to the Council Secretary and Chief Secretary Lilamani Poudel.

The personalities nominated by the CC to the post of office-bearers of the Commission will undergo parliamentary hearing before being appointed by the President.

The CC meeting held on Thursday evening, however, failed to make recommendations for the vacant posts in the Commission for the Investigation of Abuse of Authority.

Chaired by the Prime Minister, the Council comprises the Speaker, the Chief Justice, the main opposition leader in the Legislature-Parliament, and three ministers designated by the Prime Minister.

Published: 26-02-2015 20:54

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment

Main News