Major party leaders discuss number of provinces

Major party leaders discuss number of provinces

Jun 7, 2015-

A meeting of the top leaders of major political parties held discussion regarding the major disputed issues in the forthcoming constitution on Sunday.

Leaders of Nepali Congress, CPN-UML, UCPN (Maoist) and Madhes-based parties discussed on the number of constituent units with a focus on a choice between six or eight provinces. The meeting was held to forge consensus on the contentious issues of the new constitution as to promulgate it on a political consensus.

During the meeting held at the official residence of the Prime Minister at Baluwatar, leaders shared their views on six provinces as well as eight provinces, said Madheshi Alliance Coordinator, Bijay Kumar Gachchhadar. He said, "Discussion was held about different modalities regarding it. The meeting will take place again this afternoon to forge consensus after further intra-party discussion."

Stating that positive discussion was held in the meeting, Gachchhadar told media persons that leaders have reached closer to promulgating the new constitution by finalising the disputed issues.

Present in the meeting were NC President and Prime Minister Sushil Koirala, CPN-UML Chairman KP Sharma Oli, UCPN (M) Chairman Pushpa Kamal Dahal and Madhesi alliance Coordinator Gachchhadar. RSS

Published: 07-06-2015 14:23

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment

Main News