Singh sets 3 more records

  • National open swimming championships
- Post Report, Lalitpur
Singh sets 3 more records

Jun 9, 2015-

Gaurika Singh set three more national records to continue her dominance in the 20th National Open Swimming Championships at the Satdobato Swimming Complex on Monday.

The 12-year old Singh, who took everyone by surprise shattering seven national records last year while she was on a vacation from London with her mother, proved herself one more time beginning the tournament with three national records on the first day on Sunday. On Monday, Singh broke national records in women’s open 200m freestyle, 100m backstroke and 50m freestyle.

She had set national records in 100m freestyle, 100m breaststroke and 200m backstroke events on Sunday. On Monday, Singh bettered her own mark in the 200m freestyle and 100m backstroke events. Singh clocked 2:19.72 minutes in the 200m freestyle, surpassing her previous best of 2:26.28 and timed 1:13.13 minutes for 100m backstroke gold. She held the previous record at 1:17.97.

In 50m freestyle, Singh broke the previous record of 29.53 seconds in the 50m freestyle set by Sofia Gadegaard during the first Lumbini National Championships. The 20th National wrapped up with seven new national records with Singh alone claiming six of them. Niharika Tuladhar also set a new national record in women’s 50m breaststroke clocking 39.81 seconds and broke the previous best of 40.07 set by Bibidha Rimal during the 2004 SAF Games.

Manish Chitrakar claimed triple gold on the final day, winning the 50m butterfly, breaststroke and 100m freestyle. Chitrakar timed 32.22 in 50m butterfly, 36.98 in breaststroke and 1:04.93 in 100m freestyle. Devesh Manandhar also cruised to double gold, winning the 400m free in 5:26.28 and 200m backstroke in 2:54.41.

Tribhuvan Army Club claimed four gold with Tej Bahadur Majhi winning the men’s 400m Individual Medley in 6:40.84, Yam Kumari Ghale getting hold of women’s 800m freestyle title timing 14:50.87 and Kiran Karki completing the 100m breaststroke gold in 1:17.70. Sonira Bista was the other TAC swimmer winning women’s 200m breaststroke in 3:31.22.

Published: 09-06-2015 07:14

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment