Power abuse accused UML ministers out

- Post Report, Kathmandu
Sports Minister Poudel submits his resignation to PM Koirala while Energy Minister Gyawali, who refused to quit, gets fired

Oct 2, 2015-Two CPN-UML ministers have been removed from their posts over power abuse and corruption allegations.

Sports Minister Purushottam Poudel tendered his resignation to Prime Minister Sushil Koirala after facing accusation that he

misused his authority to appoint Keshav Bista as the member secretary of National Sports Council. Bista along with five other sports officials was found guilty of aiding in the escape of four Nepali athletes participating in the Asian Games in South Korea in 2014.

Likewise, Energy Minister Radha Gyawali was ousted from the Cabinet on charge of awarding contract to the second lowest bidder for the construction of Solu Corridor

132 Kv transmission line. The Commission for Investigation of Abuse of Authority has claimed that Gyawali played a direct role in awarding the contract to Mohan Energy Corporation (P) Ltd on August 21 without giving opportunity to the lowest bidders, JV of Jagur Overseas Ltd and BS Ltd, bringing up minor issues in their technical proposals.

Prime Minister Koirala removed Gyawali from her position after she refused to resign. Initially, Poudel too had refused to leave the post, citing he would automatically be replaced with the formation of a new government within a couple of days. On Wednesday, he had submitted a written statement to the prime minister mentioning that the CIAA had overstepped its jurisdiction and recommended action against him without looking into the case seriously.

 Poudel finally relented and submitted his resignation letter on Thursday morning following the pressure from the party.  The two vacant ministry portfolios will be overseen by Home Minister Bam Dev Gautam.

This is not the first instance of UML ministers leaving their posts in the incumbent coalition government led by the Nepali Congress.

The previous UML ministers to leave their posts are Karna Bahadur Thapa (Industry Ministry), Bhim Acharya (Tourism Ministry), Deepak Chandra Amatya (Tourism Ministry), and Hari Parajuli (Agriculture Ministry).  

Published: 02-10-2015 08:56

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment

Main News