Oli elected 38th Prime Minister of Nepal (Update)

- Post Report, Kathmandu

Oct 11, 2015-

CPN-UML Chairman KP Sharma has been elected the 38th Prime Minister of Nepal. He secured 338 votes during the election held at the Legislature-Parliament on Sunday, while his rival candidate Nepali Congress President Sushil Koirala secured 249 votes.

A total of 587 lawmakers cast their votes.

Oli is the first prime minister after the adoption of new constitution through Constituent Assembly.

​Born on February 22, 1952, in Terhathum district, Oli was elected to the Constituent Assembly in the second CA election from Jhapa district constituency.  

Oli became CPN-UML's Parliamentary Party in the 2nd Constituent Assembly on February 4, 2014, defeating former party Chairman Jhala Nath Khanal.

Oli, who had served as Home Minister in 1994/95 after the restoration of democracy in 1990, became the Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Foreign Affairs during the interim government in 2006. 

Influenced by communist ideology of Marxism-Leninism, Oli joined political activities in 1966 and became a member of Communist Party of Nepal in February, 1970. He became involved in underground politics against autocratic party-less Panchayat System in 1970. He was arrested in 1973 and imprisoned for 14 years. He was released in 1987. 

Published: 11-10-2015 15:55

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment

Main News