Oli sworn in as PM; Thapa, Gachhadar take oath as DPMs (in pictures)

  • Five ministers sworn in
- Post Report, Kathmandu

Oct 12, 2015-

UML Chairman KP Sharma Oli has been sworn in as the 38th Prime Minister of the country amid a special function at the president’s residence in Sheetal Niwas, Maharajgunj, Kathmandu on Monday.

President Ram Baran Yadav administered the oath of office and secrecy to the newly elected PM during the function.President Yadav also administered official oath and secrecy to two deputy prime ministers and five ministers. Bijay Kumar Gachhadar and Kamal Thapa were sworn in as Deputy Prime Miniser (DPMs). Gachhadar has also been appointed as the Minister for Physical Infrastructure and Transport while Thapa will take charge of Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

Ministers Agni Kharel (UML), Haribol Gajurel (Maoist), Satya Narayan Mandal (UML), Som Panday (UML) and Ram Kumar Subba (RPP-N) also took the oath of office and secrecy from the president.

Kharel has been appointed as the Minister for Law, Justice, Constituent Assembly & Parliamentary Affairs, while Gajurel as Minister for Agricultural Development. Panday will head the Ministry of Industry. The portfolios of Mandal and Subba have not been decided.

Gachhadar’s Madhesi Janadhikar Forum-Loktantrik and Thapa’s Rastriya Prajatantra Party-Nepal had voted for Oli during Sunday's election for the post of prime minister.

Oli defeated Nepali Congress President Sushil Koirala during the election on Sunday. Oli secured 338 votes against Koirala’s 249.

Oli was supported by UCPN (Maoist), Rastriya Prajatantra Pary-Nepal, Madhesi Janadhikar Forum-Loktantrik, and 11 other parties for the post.

Published: 12-10-2015 13:27

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment

Main News