Outsiders NPC claim title

  • Birat gold cup
- Binod Bhandari, BIRATNAGAR

Feb 28, 2016-

Outsiders Nepal Police Club (NPC) claimed their first title in 12 months after defeating much-fancied Jhapa XI 1-0 in the final of the fourth Birat Gold Cup here at the Shahid Stadium on Saturday.

Bharat Shah scored the winner for NPC in the 87th minute to end their one-year barren spell. The victory also saw NPC avenge the three previous losses Jhapa had inflicted them – twice in National League and during the Aaha-Rara Gold Cup.

The victory fetched NPC Rs 501,000 and runners-up Jhapa took home Rs 301,000. NPC had made the late entry into the tournament replacing Bangladesh Football Club who had opted to withdraw from the tournament. 

Jhapa dominated the entire match but it was one single mistake from their skipper Binaya Shrestha that cost them the title. Shrestha left the post unattended and flicked an NPC corner which landed straight to Shah with the midfielder making no mistake to nudge the ball into the nets. Shah had replaced Bimal Gharti Magar, the u-19 skipper playing his first match for NPC, in the 57th minute of the match.

“Jhapa played well but they lacked in finishing and a single goal that came at the late moment was enough for us to claim the title,” said NPC coach Ananta Thapa.

Jhapa were unfortunate not to score a single goal after their several chances went begging. Karna Limbu was denied by the woodworks in the 44th, 53rd, 57th and 

77th minute. After conceding the late goal, Jhapa consistently attacked NPC post 

but they were denied by goalkeeper Bishal Shrestha.

Shrestha, who later walked away with the best goalkeeper award, denied Ganesh Khadka, Buddha Chemjong and Bishal Rai. NPC midfielder Bhola Silwal was adjudged the man-of-the-final.

Another NPC player, defender Suman Subedi was named the best player of the tournament and was rewarded with a motorbike. Limbu (striker), Yogesh Gurung (midfielder) and Devendra Tamang (defender) of Jhapa were other individual winners. Limbu and Chemjong also took the highest scorer’s honour with three goals each.

Published: 28-02-2016 09:47

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment