36 players selected for AFC Asian Cup-2019

- RSS, Kathmandu

Feb 9, 2017-

A total of 36 players have been selected for the Asian Football Confederation (AFC) Asian Cup-2019 to be held in Philippines in March this year.

Nepal National Football Head Coach, Gyotoku Koji, shared that the squad comprises 23 players from the team, who won the AFC Solidarity Cup held in Malaysia last year.

Nepal will play against Philippines in the opening match of the AFC Asia Cup on March 28.

Rabin Shrestha, Biraj Maharjan, Ananta Tamang, Deepak Gurung, Aditya Chaudhary, Bimal Gharti Magar, Bishal Rai, Rajan Bista, Anil Gurung, Heman Gurung, BK Ram and Kamal Shrestha are in the team.

Other players include Anjan Bista, Sujal Shrestha, Kiran Limbu, Suman Lama, Navayug Shrestha, Devendra Tamang, Bishal Shrestha, Bharat Khawas, Rajendra Rawal, Ranjit Dhamal, Ellen Neupane, Karna Limbu, Yubaraj Khadka, Rabi Pashwan and Bishwa Adhikari.

A total of 24 teams, divided into six groups, are vying for 12 spots in the finals to be hosted by the UAE.

Every two teams scoring the highest in each group will be selected in the AFC Asian Cup.


Published: 09-02-2017 20:39

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment