Rai prevails over Basnet in close contest

  • Second Coas marathon
- Post Report, Kathmandu

Feb 12, 2017-

Bhumi Raj Rai of Nepal Police Club (NPC) prevailed over Krishna Basnet of Tribhuvan Army Club (TAC) in a close contest to win the second CoAS Open Marathon title on Saturday.

In absence of defending champion Gopi Chandra Parki of Nepal Armed Police Force (APF) Club, Rai gathered pace in the last 1000 metres to overtake Rai to win with a timing of 2:24:13 hours, just two seconds ahead of his closes contender. Another TAC runner Rajan Khatri ended up third clocking 2:25:50.

The title handed Rai a cash purse of Rs 100,000 along with a motorcycle, while Basnet and Khatri got Rs 50,000 and Rs 25,000 respectively. Rai, who had ended up fifth in the previous edition, said he was confident to win once getting close to Basnet.

“I had set up my mind to follow the leader with the start of the race and ran accordingly. Once I overtook him (Basnet), it gave me more confidence to win the race. I am happy that I ended up as the champion,” said Rai adding he has set more ambitions.

“I am now training for the World Championships to be held in China and want to qualify there. No Nepali runner has qualified for the Worlds so this title triumph has given me a lot of confidence,” added the winner. Laxman Malla (APF) and Chatra Bahadur Dahal (TAC) were disqualified from the competition after they completed the race through a short route.

The race had begun from Sainik Manch in Tudikhel and travelled en route Ratnapark, Bhadrakali, Tripureshwor, Maitighar, Tinkune, Sinamangal, Chabahil, Maharajgunj, Ranipokhari, Bhadrakali and Shahid Gate.

TAC dominated the men’s and women’s half marathon through Kalyan Baniya and Bishwo Rupa Budha. Baniya completed the race in 1:11:02 hours ahead of clubmates Ramji Basnet (1:11:05) and Raj Kumar Bista 1:11:06. Budha beat another TAC runner Sanu Maya Karki and Pushpa Bhandari of APF clocking 1:20:36.

The top three finishers in the half marathon received Rs 25,000, Rs 15,000 and Rs 10,000 with the women’s winner also getting a scooter. Rohan Shrestha (40:13.79 minutes) and Shruti Kunwar (48:30.89) won the men’s and women’s 10km races.

Justin Geesing of the USA won the men’s 10km race for foreigner clocking 50:03.54 and another American Lindsay Pipes (49.57.35) was the only female participant.

Published: 12-02-2017 09:29

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment