Dhangadi premier League: Chauraha clinch trophy

- BINOD PANDEY, Dhangadi

Apr 23, 2017-

Dhangadi Team Chauraha completed a remarkable turnaround to clinch the first Dhangadi Premier League (DPL) twenty20 cricket tournament title with a 62-run win over Biratnagar Kings at the SSP Cricket Grounds in Dhangadi on Saturday.

The national team skipper Paras Khadka-led Chauraha posted a commanding 159-5 in 20 overs and restricted Biratnagar, the team led by national team allrounder Sharad Vesawkar, for 97 runs in 18.1 overs.

It was a stunning finish to the tournament for the team languishing in fifth place going into their last league match against the table-topper Rupandehi Challengers. With just two points and needing big win over Rupandehi, Khadka and co. managed to pull off what appeared an unlikely feat that ensured their qualification as the fourth and final team in playoff.  

Only net run-rate separated Chauraha from the eliminated Kanchanpur Iconics and CYC Attariya. From there on, Chauraha never looked back winning all the matches comprehensively. They hammered Kathmandu Goldens in the Eliminator and dispatched the losers of the first Qualifier Rupandehi again in the second Qualifier to set the title showdown with Biratnagar.

In the final, allrounder Aarif Sheikh shone with bat and ball to help his team record a thumping victory. Man-of-the-match Sheikh struck a fluent 54, clobbering four sixes and as many fours in his 30-ball knock. A late cameo from Amar Singh Routela and Saurav Kandel then helped Chauraha post a big total on the board.

Routela, who earlier combined to put on a 65-run fourth wicket stand with Sheikh, slammed three fours and two sixes in his 15-ball 31 unbeaten runs. Khanal also hit a six and a four in his 5-ball 14. Skipper Khadka (29) chipped with a composed 29 off 34 balls with three boundaries and a six. Sushil Kandel was pick of the Biratnagar bowlers with 2-32, while Jitendra Mukhiya, Sandeep Lamichhane and Prakash Bista bagged one wicket each.

Only Pranit Thapa Magar (27) and Amit Shrestha (26) put some resistance in Biratnagar run chase. Anil Shah (13) and Dipendra Singh Airee (13) made good start but failed to build their innings. Susan Bhari claimed three, while Sheikh and Saurav Kandel grabbed two wickets each for Chauraha.

Chauraha collected a top prize of Rs 1.5 million and the runners-up received Rs 700,000 in the six-team tournament. Sushil Kandel of Biratnagar won the man-of-the-series award that offered a motorbike.


Dhangadi Team Chauraha 159-5 in 20 overs (A Sheikh 54, P Khadka 29; S Kandel 2-32, S Lamichhane 1-11) beat Biratnagar Kings 97 in 18.1 overs (P Thapa Magar 27, A Shrestha 26; S Bhari 3-18, A Sheikh 2-16) by 62 runs

Man-of-the-match: Aarif Sheikh

Man-of-the-series: S Kandel

Published: 23-04-2017 08:57

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment