EC says preps for phase II local polls over, urges voters to cast ballot without fear

- Post Report, Kathmandu

Jun 27, 2017-

Election Commission (EC) has said that it has completed all the preparations for the second phase of local level elections slated to be held in 35 districts of provinces 1, 5, and 7 on Wednesday. 

At a press conference in the Capital on Tuesday, Chief Election Commissioner Ayodhi Prasad Yadav said that the government has tightened security in and around the polling stations and urged the voters to exercise their voting rights without any fear.

Saying that the voting will start from 7 am and will end at 5 pm in all the polling centres, he urged all the registered voters to make sure that they reach their concerned voting centres and cast their votes within that time period.

Yadav said those who could not collect their voters ID cards can use other valid ID cards like citizenship, driving licence, and passport or social security allowance documents to cast their ballots.

The EC is holding second round of local polls to elect representatives in 334 local units of 35 districts in three provinces—1, 5 and 7. There are one metropolitan, seven sub-metropolitan, 111 municipalities and 215 village councils in three provinces. A total of 64, 32,765 voters are registered the provinces.  

Earlier on May 14, the EC had conducted elections in 283 local units of provinces 3, 4 and 6. The government has scheduled third round of elections in eight districts of province 2 for September 18. 

Published: 27-06-2017 16:28

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment

Main News