Three new faces in judo team

- Post Report, Kathmandu

Aug 13, 2017-Three new faces have secured place for national judo team through Ambika Bahadur Chhetri Memorial Open Judo Championship at the National Sports Council training hall in Satdobato on Saturday. 

In an event that serves as selection of players for national team, female judokas Sumitra Rai and Aakriti Joshi and Ganga Chaudhary of Tribhuvan Army Club (TAC) earned their spots in the national fold after winning their respective weight categories.

The winner and the runners up of all weight categories will earn place in the national team. Earlier, only the winners were included in the national team camp. 

Sumitra Rai of TAC overcame Susmita Lawat of same departmental team in 48kg to replace Sarita Chaudhary of Nepal Police Club (NPC) from the national team.

Chaudhary did not turn up for the tournament. Joshi overcame Sunita Bohara, the member of national team, of Kanchanpur in 78kg plus weight category. Ganga Chaudhary, the bronze medallist of the 12th South Asian Games, saw off Magnolia Shrestha of Situ Boarding School in U-70 kg section. The U-57kg weight category saw Manita Shrestha Pradhan of TAC retain her championship title defeating Nepal Armed Police Force (APF) Club’s Devi Khadka. 

In the men’s section, Roshan Bahadur Dong of Prisoners Assistant Mission (Pam) earned top finish in U-57kg defeating Hariram Chaudhary of Occed Nepal. Indra Bahadur Shrestha of Pam claimed U-66kg title defeating Sunil Nagarkoti of Rasuwa in the final. Mohan Sunuwar of Central Judo Dojo claimed top finish in 81kg category with victory over Manish Mahato of NPC in the final clash. Rabin Shrestah of NPC overcame Shiva Bahadur Baram of TAC in U-100kg final. 

The men’s U-90kg winner will make the cut for the fifth International Judo Tournament Cup of President of the Republic of Tajikistan. The tournament, which concludes on Sunday, features 140 players in 16 weight categories – eight each in men’s and women’s section.

Published: 13-08-2017 09:23

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment