Titans, Challengers join jammed leaderboard

  • Machhapuchhre Cricket League
- Post Report, POKHARA

Sep 11, 2017-Parbat Titans and Syangja Challengers registered wins to joined a packed leaderboard of the Machhapuchhre Cricket League in Pokhara on Sunday.

Titans defended a low total to beat Informatics College Cheetahs by 52 runs, while Challengers eased past VM Warriors Baglung by eight wickets. The results mean Titans and Challengers joined leaders Machhapuchhre Lions, second-placed Pokhara Lions and Informatics College Cheetahs on equal six points in the six-team round robin league. Only the net run-rate separate the five teams but the leaders Machhapuchhre have a big advantage over the four other teams as they have play only three games against the four of the others.

Titans posted 111-9 in their allotted 20 overs before restricting Cheetahs for 59-9 in 14.2 overs as one of their batsman did not turn up due to injury. Titans’ relatively low total was build around small contribution from Sahil Karki (26), Abhishek Thapa (20) and Agendra Chhantyal (13). Santosh Shrestha was pick of the Cheetahs’ bowlers with 3-17, while Joy Sharma and Vinay Bhandari took two wickets each.

Milan Thapa appeared to give Cheetahs a bright start to their chase putting on 28 runs for the first wicket with Samir Sen (4). But Cheetahs kept losing wickets at regular intervals to be eventual be restricted to 59 runs. Thapa alone contributed 21 runs as Titans bowlers Santwan Poudel and Suraj Shrestha ran through the Cheetahs’ battling line up with three wickets each after  man-of-the-match Agendra Chhantyal had taken out the top two batsmen earlier.

In the day’s another match, Warriors put on a fighting 107-8 in 20 overs thanks largely to their openers but Syangja Challengers made light of the runs surpassing the total in 16.5 overs for the loss of two wickets. Deepak Kunwar top scored for the Warriors with 49-ball 43, hitting three sixes and as many fours. His opening partner Kishor Chhantyal chipped in with 20 runs. Ashim Shrestha took three and Suraj Gurung claimed two wickets for Challengers.

In reply, Challengers lost opener Manoj Gautam (3) at 4-1 but Bishwa Thapa and Ashim Shrestha put on a 90-run second wicket stand to virtually complete the run chase. Shrestha was dismissed on 28 runs with just 14 runs required. Thapa, however, carried his bat until the end scored 53 unbeaten runs. Thapa clobbered five boundaries and a six in his 49-ball knock. Sanjay Pant and Passang Pun took one wicket each for Warriors.

Published: 11-09-2017 09:04

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment