Chemjong, Nangsal the best players

  • Judoka Pradhan awarded youth player of the year
  • Athletics’ Ojha takes coach of the year
  • PAM gets Special Award
- Post Report, Kathmandu

Sep 12, 2017-Footballer Kiran Chemjong and shuttler Nangsal Devi Tamang won the player of the year titles at the Pulsar Sports Award at the Nepal Academy Hall on Monday.

In an award won by athletes and sportspersons from multiple disciplines, Manita Shrestha Pradhan of judo won the youth player of the year, athletics’ Pushpa Raj Ojha was named the best coach, while long distance runner Kanchi Maya Koju got People’s Choice Award which is won through SMS voting. Padam Bahadur Badela was named the para-athlete of the year, Prisoners’ Assistance Mission (PAM) got Special Award and Nepal’s first professional golfer Ghanashyam Thapa took the Lifetime Achievement Award.

Chemjong had a successful last year handing the AFC Solidarity Cup title in Malaysia on the back of three back-to-back penalty saves in a tie-breaker against Laos in the semi-finals. He had also helped his Maldivian club TC Sports win the Sheikh Kamal International Club Cup title. Chemjong’s mother received the award as the Nepal No 1 custodian is currently with his club in Maldives. Cricket’s Sharad Vesawkar, spiker Man Bahadur Shrestha, shuttler Ratnajit Tamang and sprinter Som Bahadur Kumal were other nominees.

Nangsal was overwhelmed after winning the award. “I was nominated for this category six years ago and finally got my hands to it this time. It’s a great feeling to win it and I would like to thank everyone who helped me win this award,” said Nangsal who had claimed a mixed doubles gold combining with Ratnajit in the Pakistan International Series. Apart from women’s singles bronze in the same tournament, the Tribhuvan Army Club (TAC) shuttler had also claimed a total of seven domestic titles. She got the better of Sabitra Bhandari of football, Saraswati Bhattarai of athletics, Gyanu Awale of archery and Koju of athletics.

Ojha was the most successful coach for TAC having guided the departmental team to 22 gold medals during the seventh National Games in Eastern Region. Under Ojha, Saraswati Bhattarai had broken a 26-year old national record in the women’s 1500m race in the 2016 Rio Olympics. The coach credited his players for his achievement. “Had there been no such performance from my players, I wouldn’t have been standing here,” said Ojha. He won the award ahead of football’s Gyotoku Koju and Meghraj KC, Jagat Tamatta of cricket and Kiran Thapa of badminton.

Judoka Pradhan had won the 10th Cadet Asian Judo Championship and had dominated the national judo claiming two gold and sweeping best player’s awards. She thanked everyone involved in making her a player she is. Pratibha Mali of volleyball, Kamala Shrestha of weightlifting, Ananta Tamang of football and cricketer Dipendra Singh Airee were the other nominees.

Blind cricketer Badela had taken the Twenty20 World Cup for Blind by storm after hitting the only double century of the tournament. His performance had helped Nepal beat New Zealand in the World Cup. PAM, an organisation that looks after the children of prisoners, has produced several national and international judokas after it came to life in 2004.

Koju was nominated for the People’s Choice award after claiming five half marathon titles and setting new national records in both full and half marathon. She received 66,834 out of 95,726 votes compiled through SMS and facebook likes. Footballer Sujal Shrestha, cricketer Airee, judoka Phupu Lhamu Khatri  and swimmer Gaurika Singh were other nominees. 

The winners of male, female, coach and people’s choice awards got Pulsar motorcycle, while other winners got Rs 50,000 apiece. The ceremony also saw stage performances from stand-up comedian Sandip Chhetri, singer Aastha Raut, dance group Cartoonz and Circus Kathmandu.


Winner Sports Discipline Category

Kiran Chemjong Football Male

Nangsal Tamang Badminton Female

Manita Shrestha Pradhan Judo Youth

Pushpa Raj Ojha Athletics Coach

Kanchi Maya Koju Athletics People’s Choice

Padam Bahadur Badela Cricket Para-athlete

PAM Judo Special Award

Ghanashyam Thapa Golf Lifetime Achievement

Published: 12-09-2017 09:07

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment