Bhattarai decides to contest polls on his own

  • Naya Shakti to participate in elections under own symbol ‘eye’
- Post Report, Kathmandu

Oct 13, 2017-

Naya Shakti Nepal that had earlier decided to contest in the upcoming elections under CPN-UML election symbol ‘sun’ has now decided to participate in the election under Naya Shakti’s own election symbol ‘eye’.

The party that joined the left alliance of CPN-UML and CPN (Maoist Centre) for upcoming polls held a secretariat meeting on Friday which concluded to contest  elections under its own symbol saying UML and Maoist Center were going against an agreement to use common symbol.

Bhattarai had sought his home district Gorkha as his constituency but as Maoist Centre remained adamant on fielding their own candidates from Gorkha, Bhattarai decided to run in the polls on his own.

The meeting also finalised the constituencies for top leaders of the party including Coordinator Baburam Bhattarai.

As per the decision taken by Naya Shakti today, the party will field Bhattarai from Gorkha-2, Krishna Kumar Chaudhary from Kailali-3, Dan Bahadur Chaudhary from Kapilvastu-1, Prem Tamang from Rasuwa and Madan Rai from Khotang under FPTP in the Federal Parliamentary elections.

“We are open to electoral alliance with all others except those parties or persons opposing republic status, federalism, secularity and inclusion,” read a statement released by the party.

Published: 13-10-2017 18:01

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment