PM Deuba expands cabinet; Kamal Thapa appointed DPM

- Post Report, Kathmandu

Oct 13, 2017-

Prime Minister Sher Bahadur Deuba has expanded his cabinet today. He appointed Rastriya Prajatantra Party Chairman Kamal Thapa as deputy prime minister.

RPP leaders Dilnath Giri, Jayanta Chand and Bikram Thapa have been appointed as ministers without portfolio, according to PM press aide Govinda Pariyar.

Likewise, Kunti Shahi, Bhaskar Bhadra, Sushil Shrestha and Kanta Bhattarai have been appointed as state ministers. However, their ministries have not been designated yet.

PM Deuba had reached the President’s office to recommend the new ministers today. The President’s personal secretary Bhesh Raj Adhikari said that the time for oath taking ceremony has not been fixed yet.

The move comes in the wake of government coalition partner CPN (Maoist Centre) aligning with opposition CPN-UML for the upcoming federal parliamentary and provincial elections.

Meanwhile, it is learnt PM Deuba is preparing to oust Maoist ministers from the government.

RPP had decided to extend support to the Deuba government after being assured of getting ministerial berths being handled by Maoist Centre.

Published: 13-10-2017 18:32

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment