Bhandari, Rana triumph

  • Lalitpur district national open lawn tennis
- Post Report, Lalitpur

Oct 15, 2017-Kamal Bhandari and Mayanka Rana claimed the men’s and women’s singles titles of the second Lalitpur District National Open Lawn Tennis Tournament on Saturday. 

Bhandari eased past Santosh Khatri in straight sets of 7-6, 6-2 to lift the men’s singles title at the Satdobato tennis courts. Rana registered a comfortable win of 6-1, 6-2 win over Prerana Koirala to be crowned the women’s champion.

Bhandari had earlier combined with Mahesh Shrestha to triumph in the men’s doubles final. The duo overcame pair of Santosh Khatri and Aatmaram Karki 6-2, 6-3 in the final.

The men’s and women’s singles winners were rewarded with a cash purse of Rs 25,000 each and trophies while the runners up received Rs 15,000 each. The doubles winners and runners-up earned Rs 5,000 and Rs 2,500 respectively.  

All Nepal Lawn Tennis Association (ANLTA) former president Manoj Sumsher Rana and other officials distributed prizes to the winners. 

The tennis governing body also feted sports journalist Niranjan Rajbanshi and veteran badminton players during the prize distribution ceremony.

Published: 15-10-2017 09:11

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment