Sherpa claims second edition

- Post Report, Kathmandu

Oct 15, 2017-

Ang Tshiring Sherpa on Saturday won the second edition of the Carlsberg Golf Series at the Gokarna Golf Club to stretch his lead in the overall standings. 

The seven handicap player won the title on count back after he was tied on 36 points with three other golfers Madhav Simkhada, Vijay Shrestha Einhaus and Wangchen Dhondup. Sherpa (19 points) had better points than his competitors Simkhada (18), Dhondup (17) and Einhaus (15) on the back nine. The event was played under stableford 3/4 handicap format. 

Dhondup took some solace after winning the gross category title with 35 points on count back. He was tied with Prithvi Malla and Einhaus. Dhondup and Malla had scored 17 points each on the back nine while Einhaus had 15. But Dhondup emerged winner on the basis of his score on the last six holes. He had 11 points in the last six holes and Malla had 10.  

Rekha Ghimire won the women’s title scoring 30 points, two ahead of Kashmira Shah. Bhairaja Panday won the senior category (60 years and above) getting the better of Maj Gen Daman B Ghale. Phuntshok N Lama (longest drive), Korean golfer YD Kwon (closest to the pin) and Shrestha Einhaus (most birdies) won the individual award. 

Ang Tshiring leads the overall standings with 200 points after Saturday. Dhondup trails Ang Tshiring with 170 and Madhav Simkhada is third at 140 points. Ang Dorjee (100 points) and Einhaus (80 points) are fourth and fifth in the table respectively.

Dhondup leads the gross category with 300 points followed by Malla (190 points), Tashi Tshiring (150 points). Mithun Rai and Einhaus are tied in fourth spot with 100 points. The final series will be held in February 2018 to decide the series winners. 

Deputy Managing Director of Gorkha Brewery Surendra Silwal, Sales Director Kajiman Subba, Trade Marketing Manager Rojan Amatya, President of Gokarna Golf Club Suhrid Ghimire  among other gave away  prizes to the winners.

Published: 15-10-2017 09:03

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment