Local leaders disappointed by SSFN, RJP seat-sharing deal

- Post Report, Rajbiraj

Oct 31, 2017-

Local leaders of Sanghiya Samajbadi Forum Nepal (SSFN) and Rastriya Janata Party (RJP) have been disappointed with the seat-sharing agreement between the parties for the second phase of parliamentary and provincial elections slated for December 7.

The leaders and cadres stood against the deal minutes after the top leaders of the parties reached the agreement.

Saying that honest leaders and cadres should be given priority while distributing tickets in the party, RJP leaders had announced independent candidates by breaking the hunger strike of RJP leader Laxman Yadav, who had been staging fast-unto-death in front of the statue of late Gajendra Narayan Singh in Rajbiraj for the past four days.

According to the agreement reached between RJP and SSFN regarding electoral seats sharing, SSFN has decided to file nominations from Saptari constituency-2 in the parliamentary elections and 2 (1) in provincial election and RJP will file candidacies from 2 (2) in provincial election.

SSFN leaders said that party Chairman Upendra Yadav will contest the parliamentary election from Saptari constituency-2, Shailendra Prasad Sah from 2 (1) in provincial election and RJP General Secretary Manish Kumar Suman from 2 (2).

Speaking at a programme at Gajendra Chok on Tuesday, RJP Joint General Secretary Jaya Prakash Thakur had announced his independent candidacy from Saptari-2 in parliamentary election.

Thakur, being a Joint General Secretary of Tarai/Madhes Loktantrik Party, had contested the second Constituent Assembly election from Saptari-3.

Thakur is said to be close to RJP Presidium Coordinator Mahantha Thakur.

Yadav ended his hunger strike by drinking juice from the hands of Thakur.

It has almost been finalised that General Secretary Suman will contest the election from that constituency in the provincial election.

Published: 31-10-2017 18:16

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment

Main News