EC announces result of provincial PR seats

- Post Report, Kathmandu

Jan 17, 2018-

The Election Commission (EC) on Wednesday made public the result of provincial assembly elections under Proportional Representation (PR) category. The EC said announced the winners of provincial assembly elected under PR category based on the closed-list submitted by the political parties.

According to Joint Secretary and EC Spokesperson Nawaraj Dhakal, A meeting of the election body chaired by Chief Election Commissioner Ayodhee Prasad Yadav finalised the names of candidates elected to all seven provincial assemblies under the PR category. 

Article 176 of the constitution has provisioned the election of 220 candidates under PR electoral system from all seven provinces.

Earlier on December 22, the EC had announced the number of provincial PR seats won by the parties. The EC has yet to declare the parliamentary seats under PR category.

The commission used the modified Sainte-Laguë method for allocating seats to the parties.

The EC is organising a programme at its office at 1 pm on Friday (January 19) to distribute the certificates to the winners and asked the latter to contact the EC in coordination with their respective parties. 

Published: 17-01-2018 20:28

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment

Main News