Deck cleared for swearing in of provincial members


Jan 21, 2018-

Preparations are over for the swearing-in of Provincial Assembly members in the seven provinces on Sunday.

In Dhangadhi, Regional Administrator Laxmi Ram Paudel said they have already made arrangements for the oath-taking ceremony and also managed the secretariat and residence of the provincial chief.

“We have managed an assembly hall of the District Coordination Committee (DDC) for the event. The Office of the Cottage and Small Industries has been prepared for the provincial chief’s secretariat while a Regional Forest Directorate building will serve as the residence,” said Paudel. Province 7 Assembly has 53 members.

In Surkhet, the Regional Administration Office is set to hold the oath-taking ceremony for Province 6 lawmakers in a hall of the DDC. There are 40 lawmakers in the province. The local administration has prepared the Regional Forest Training Centre as the governor’s office.

In Pokhara, the oath will be administered at the Nadipur-based Nagar Bikas Prasikhsyan Kendra, the proposed Provincial Assembly building. There are 58 parliamentarians in Province 4. Personnel from the Nepal Army, Nepal Police and the Armed Police Force cleaned up the Kendra and its premises on Saturday.

In Butwal, Province 5 chief Umakant Jha said they were all set for the swearing-in. The ceremony is going to be organised at a hall of the Butwal Chamber of Commerce and Industry. There are 87 members in Province 5 Assembly.

In Biratnagar, the ceremony will be held at Birendra Sabha Griha. There are 193 members in Province-1 Assembly. “We will complete all preparations before night,” said Morang CDO Ram Prasad Acharya. The Urban Development and Building Construction Office started repairing government offices for housing provincial agencies. In Janakpur, the Rajarshi Janak Sabha Griha has been decked up for Sunday’s ceremony. The residence of the erstwhile Janakpur Cigarette Factory managing director has been converted into the official residence of the Province 2 chief.

Chief District Officer Dilip Kumar Chapagain said the oath will be administered as directed by the provincial chief. The local administration said provincial chief Ratneshwar Lal Kayastha was scheduled to reach Janakpur on Saturday evening.

(With inputs from our local correspondents)

Published: 21-01-2018 08:22

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment

Main News