Nagarkoti, Shrestha share 1st round lead

  • NPGA classic
- Post Report, Kathmandu

Feb 8, 2018-

Top-ranked Shivaram Shrestha and Bhuwan Nagarkoti were tied for the lead in the opening round of the Golfer Pilots NPGA Classic golfer tournament at the Royal Nepal Golf Club (RNGC) on Wednesday.

The RNGC pro Shrestha and the Gokarna Golf Club golfer Nagarkoti shot a matching three-under 65 at the par-68 course. Rame Magar was a shot behind at two-under 66 in the sixth event of the Surya Nepal Golf Tour 2017-18. Dhana Bahadur Thapa was in fourth after carding one-under 67. Rabi Khadka was in fifth place at even-par 68, while Surya Prasad Sharma and Jayaram Shrestha were tied for sixth at one-over 69.

Bikash Adhikari, Bhuwan Kumar Rokka and Sanjay Lama are in seventh position after shooting two-over 70. Sachin Prasad Bhattarai was next at 10th at 71.

Nepal No 1 Shrestha shot two-under 32 on the front nine and one-under 33 on the back nine. The RNGC pro dropped a shot on the second against birdies on the fourth, fifth and eighth holes. On the back nine, he sank birdies on the 10th and 15th against a bogey on the 13th hole.

Nagarkoti carded one-over 35 on the front nine and four-under 30 on the back nine. He dropped a shot on the second, third and ninth against birdies on the fourth and fifth holes. On his way back, Nagarkoti sank an eagle on the 10th to add to the birdies on the 12th and 17th holes.

Rame Magar shot three-under 31 on the front nine but slumped to one-over 35 on the back nine. Magar sank birdies on the first, second, fourth and sixth holes against a bogey on the seventh. On the back nine, he made a double bogey on the 10th, a bogey on the 11th but recovered with birdies on the 12th and 14th holes. Thapa carded one-over 35 on the front nine and two-under 32 on the back nine. Thapa sank birdies on the third and ninth but dropped shots on the fourth, fifth and seventh holes. On his way back, he earned shot on the 10th and 14th holes.

Subash Ghising lead the amateur category with the score of three-over 71. Binod Tamang was in second at 73 and Prajwal Gurung in third at 74.

In all, 31 pros and 13 amateur players are taking part in the 54-hole tournament. The first two rounds will be played at the RNGC with the final round to be held at Gokarna. The pro-am will tee off at Gokarna on Saturday. The tournament was initiated by the pilot golfers in 2007 and was held until 2009. It returns this year and was added to the Surya Nepal Golf Tour.

The champion will win Rs 55,000, while second placed golfers will earn Rs 37,000 in the tournament that offers Rs 300,000 in total prize money. The third-place golfer will receive Rs 25,000. There will be no cut in the event but only top 21 pros and ties are entitled for cash rewards.

Published: 08-02-2018 09:18

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment