Parties select PP leader

- Post Report, SURKHET

Feb 9, 2018-

CPN-UML politburo member and former minister Yam Lal Kandel has been unanimously elected the Parliamentary Party (PP) leader of Province 6.

A meeting of the party held in Birendranagar on Thursday unanimously elected Kandel as the PP leader.

Kandel was the elected to Provincial Assembly from Surkhet 2 (Ka). Another politburo member and Salyan (B) Province Assembly member Prakash Jwala proposed Kandel for the post of PP leader. Later, the Parliamentary Party unanimously endorsed the proposal of Jwala.

Earlier, Kandel and Jwala had a battle for the post of PP leader. UML is the largest party of Province Assembly in Province 6. In the 40-member Province Assembly, UML has 20 lawmakers. The CPN (Maoist Centre), which has 13 lawmakers, will lead the government in the province as per the agreement between tow parties.

Baniya NC’s PP leader in Province 3

HETAUDA: Indra Bahadur Baniya of Nepali Congress (NC) has been unanimously elected as the PP leader of Province 3.

A meeting of the party held on Thursday unanimously elected Baniya as the PP leader. Baniya was elected under the first-past-the-post (FPTP) category from Makwanpur.

Earlier, the NC had given responsibility to central member Mahalaxmi Upadhyay to form the Parliamentary Party of the Province 3.

The NC has 21 lawmakers in the province with seven members elected under the FPTP category.

According to Upadhyay, the Parliamentary Party Working Committee would be formed soon after the promulgation of constitution.

Baniya, is also the party President of Makwanpur.

Similarly, CPN (Maoist Centre) selected Tanka Angbuhang as the PP leader in Province 1. The party meeting held in Biratnagar on Thursday unanimously selected him as the PP leader.

Published: 09-02-2018 08:28

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment

Main News