UML Chairman Oli appointed 41st PM, to be sworn in later today

- Post Report, Kathmandu

Feb 15, 2018-

CPN-UML Chairman KP Sharma Oli has been appointed as the new Prime Minister of Nepal on Thursday. He will be sworn in as the country’s 41st PM at 4 pm today itself.

The appointment was made as per the article 76 of the constitution which states in case of no clear majority of any party in the House of Representatives, the President shall appoint as Prime Minister the member of the House of Representatives who can have the majority with the support of two or more political parties represented in the House of Representatives.

Oli and senior leaders of UML and CPN (Maoist Center) went to President's office in Sheetal Niwas to present their claim for PM post before President Bidya Devi Bhandari.

CPN-UML sources said Oli is likely to form a small Cabinet with two ministers from UML and one from Maoist Center. 

Oli, a leader of the Jhapa communist movement, is the eight Prime Minister from a communist party and the fifth Prime Minister from the UML. This will be Oli's second stint as PM. Earlier, Oli had served as the 38th Prime Minister from Oct 11, 2015 to July 24, 2016.

Who is Oli?

Born on February 22, 1952, in Tehrathum district, Oli was elected to the Constituent Assembly in the second CA election from Jhapa district constituency. 

Oli was elected CPN-UML Chairman on July 15, 2014 through the 9th General Convention of the party, defeating party leader Madhav Kumar Nepal. He became UML's Parliamentary Party leader during the 2nd Constituent Assembly on February 4, 2014, defeating former party Chairman Jhalanath Khanal.

Oli, who had served as Home Minister in 1994/95 after the restoration of democracy in 1990, became the Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Foreign Affairs during the interim government in 2006.

Influenced by communist ideology of Marxism-Leninism, Oli joined political activities in 1966 and became a member of Communist Party of Nepal in February, 1970. He got involved in underground politics against autocratic party-less Panchayat System in 1970. He was arrested in 1973 and imprisoned for 14 years. He was released in 1987.


Published: 15-02-2018 12:01

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment