KMG marks 25th anniversary

- Post Report, Kathmandu

Feb 19, 2018-

Kantipur Media Group (KMG) marked its 25th anniversary amid a function organised at its central office in Thapathali, Kathmandu, on Monday.

Addressing the silver jubilee function, Chairman and Managing Director of KMG Kailash Sirohiya said it was a historic day as KMG has set an example in Nepal’s private media sector. “But this 25-year journey was not easy and we had to face many obstacles along the way,” said Sirohiya.

Kantipur Media Group is not just a private company but a common institution for all Nepali people," said Sirohiya.

He thanked the readers for their support and all the KMG staffers including journalists in making the journey successful and also announced to organise a 'Kantipur International Conclave' this year.

Chief Editor of The Kathmandu Post Akhilesh Upadhyay said the KMG’s journey up to its silver jubilee became possible because of its persistent adherence to journalistic ethics. He extended his special thanks to CMD Sirohiya for providing editorial freedom to the journalists and for his unwavering faith in democracy and pluralism.

Echoing the views of Upadhyaya, Kantipur daily Chief Editor Sudheer Sharma said Kantipur has played a vital role from private media sector. He said that KMG has maintained a record of sustaining for 25 years in media history of Nepal and asserted that history will appraise the contribution made by the KMG. “The celebration of 25th anniversary by a private media house is a history in Nepal,” he noted. He said Kantipur daily has begun publishing separate editions of Kantipur from all the seven federal states as the country adopted federal structure.

During the function, best performing employees from KMG and Radio Kantipur were rewarded with cash prize and certificate of appreciation.

Lekhnath Pant from The Kathmandu Post and Durga Khanal from Kantipur Daily were named the best employees of the year. Likewise, KMG Jhapa district correspondent Parwat Portel was awarded as excellent journalist of the year. Nepal Magazine’s Rajkumar Baniya and Saptahik’s Janak Timilsena too were awarded for their performance.

Apart from journalists, employees from general administration, circulation, among other departments, too were awarded in the function.


Published: 19-02-2018 20:09

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment

Main News