Province 2 CM Raut garners 82 confidence votes

- Post Report, Kathmandu

Feb 22, 2018-

Province 2 Chief Minister Lal Babu Raut has secured 82 votes in his favour while 18 lawmakers cast their votes against him.

In a voting held at the province 2 assembly on Thursday, opposition parties CPN-UML and CPN (Maoist Centre) lawmakers have cast their votes to Raut, who is also the Parliamentary leader of the Federal Socialist Forum Nepal (FSFN). He was elected the Chief Minister on February 14 with the support of Rastriya Janata Party (RJP).

Nepal Sanghiya Samajbadi, who has one lawmaker, and an independent lawmaker also cast vote in favour of Raut.

Nepal Congress (NC) lawmakers, however, cast their votes against Raut.

Among the 107 lawmakers in the Province 2, six were absent during the voting.

FSFN has 29 lawmakers, RJP 29, CPN-UML 21, NC 19, CPN (Maoist Centre) 11 and Nepal Sanghiya Samajbadi one lawmakers. There is also one independent lawmaker in the province.

Only 54 lawmakers were needed for the Chief Minister in the vote of confidence.

Published: 22-02-2018 18:37

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment

Main News