Candidacy registration for prez election on Wednesday


Mar 6, 2018-

The registration of candidacy for the election to the post of President is taking place on Wednesday.

Spokesperson at the Election Commission Nawaraj Dhakal said the registration of candidacy will begin at 10 am and conclude at 2 pm.

As per the election schedule, the final list of candidates would be published at 6 pm on March 8.

The Election Commission has published the voters' list for the President election today.

The members of the House of Representatives, the National Assembly and the State Assemblies will cast their votes in the election.

There are 880 voters for the election to the President. However, the names of the three people nominated to the National Assembly by the President on the recommendation of the government and that of State Assembly member Rajib Gurung have not been included in the voters list.

The election to the post of president will be held on March 13.

The election will start from 10 am and conclude at 3 pm.

The Parliament Building at New Baneshwar has been designated as the polling centre for the election.

So far, none of the political parties has officially announced their candidates to contest for the third President of the Federal Democratic Republic of Nepal.

Dr Ram Baran Yadav was elected the first President and the incumbent President Bidya Devi Bhandari is the second person elected to the post after the country was declared a republic.

EC urges to ensure security provision for election

Meanwhile, the Election Commission (EC) has directed the security bodies to ensure prompt security for the upcoming presidential election.

A high-level election meeting of the security committee held in the EC today issued such directive to the security bodies.

The presidential election is being held on March 13.

During the meeting, Chief Election Commissioner Ayodhee Prasad Yadav thanked the security bodies for their contribution to make the all levels of elections in a free, fair and credible manner.

On the occasion, Secretary at the Ministry of Home Affairs Mohan Krishna Sapkota and other officials pledged to leave no stone unturned to conduct the election to the post of the president in a free and fair manner. RSS

Published: 06-03-2018 19:23

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment

Main News