Khadka, Thapa win in badminton

- Post Report, Kathmandu

Mar 12, 2018-

Yogesh Khadka of Kailali and Sujan Thapa of Zest Badminton Academy made the winning starts to the 14th Krishna Mohan Memorial Open Badminton Championships at the APF headquarters in Halchowk on Sunday. 

Khadka beat Arjun Basnet of Zest 21-15, 15-21, 21-13 and Thapa saw off Rijan Maharjan of Tribhuvan Army Club 21-17, 18-21, 21-14 in the singles event. Gokul Tamang of Kathmandu defeated Manish Mahara of Kapilvastu 21-11, 16-21, 21-16 and Hira Rai of Nepal Police Club enjoyed a walkover from Kamal Shrestha of Dhanusa. 

Besides badminton, national-level lawn tennis and women’s volleyball tournament were also formally inaugurated at the APF Headquarters by their IGP Singha Bahadur Shrestha. 

Nepal Armed Police Force (APF) is the organiser of all three events. The men’s singles fixture of the 10th Sahabir Open Lawn Tennis Tournament saw Anil Shahi of Pokhara receive walkover from Dinesh Dangol of Kathmandu. No other singles matches were possible due to rain.

Badminton and volleyball will be played in Halchowk while lawn tennis will be 

held at both Halchowk and Satdobato tennis courts. The event carries combined total purse of Rs 1.76 million. Badminton offers total purse of Rs 710,000, lawn tennis 

Rs 595,000 and volleyball Rs 425,000. 

Published: 12-03-2018 10:10

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment