Rana, Rawat through to semis

- Post Report, Kathmandu

Mar 13, 2018-

Mayanka Rana of Nepal Police Club (NPC) and Ira Rawat of Tribhuvan Army Club (TAC) advanced to the girls’ singles semi-finals of the 10th Sahabir Memorial Open lawn tennis championships on Monday.

Rana eased past Anne Mathema of Nepal Armed Police Force (APF) Club 6-1, 6-1 and Rawa saw off Bhagwati BK of APF 6-2, 6-0 in the quarter-finals. Ganga Sharma of Pokhara beat Indra Kala Shrestha of APF 6-1, 6-0 and Mahika Rana of NPC defeated Abhilasha Bista of Lalitpur 6-1, 6-2.

The men’s quarter-final matches saw Jitendra Pariyar of Lalitpur inflicted a double bagel defeat on Abhishek Bista of the same district and Kamal Bhandari of NPC dispatched Subrat Basnet of Kathmandu 6-2, 6-0. Bikash Khadka of Butwal and Man Bahadur Katuwal of Kathmandu made it to the semi-finals. Khadka eased to a 6-1, 6-0 win over Bivek Shrestha of Kathmandu and Katuwal saw off Nishan Shrestha of Lalitpur 6-3, 6-4.

Top seed Ratnajit Tamang of Tribhuvan Army Club (TAC) and Bikash Shrestha of Bhojpur advance to quarter-finals of the 14th Krishna Mohan Memorial Open Badminton Championships at the APF headquarters. Tamang saw off Devraj Rana of Kailali 21-12, 21-12 and Shrestha overcame Gautam Kathayat of APF 21-19, 21-19.

Prajwal Maharjan of TAC beat Sudip Sedain of APF 21-11, 21-19 and Sajan Krishna Tamrakar beat his APF teammate Indra Bahadur Mahata 21-14, 21-10. Prince Dahal of Darchula and Nabin Shrestha of TAC also made to the quarter-final with straight set wins. Dahal saw off Dipak Bohara of NPC 21-7, 21-17 and Shrestha eased past Jeevan Acharya of NPC 21-12, 21-16.

Hosts APF and New Diamond Academy opened the fifth National Open Women’s Volleyball Tournament wih wins. APF pulled off a 25-21, 25-14, 25-18 win over archrivals NPC and New Diamond go the better of TAC 25-17, 25-12, 25-15.

Jawalakhel Volleyball Training Centre and Western Region are other teams in the six-team tournament played under league-cum-knockout format. The winners and runners up teams from two groups will reach semi-finals.

Published: 13-03-2018 09:35

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment