PM inducts 15 new ministers in his Cabinet

  • Cabinet size reaches 22
- Post Report, Kathmandu

Mar 16, 2018-

Prime Minister KP Sharma Oli on Friday inducted 15 new ministers from his party CPN-UML and CPN (Maoist Centre), increasing the size of his Cabinet to 22. 

The newly appointed ministers took the oath of office and secrecy from President Bidhya Devi Bhandari amid a function at President’s office in Sheetal Niwas, Kathandu today.

PM Oli today appointed six ministers and three state ministers from his party CPN-UML and five ministers and one state minister from CPN (Maoist-Centre). 

CPN-UML’s Pradeep Gyawali has been appointed as Minister for Foreign Affairs, Gokarna Bista as Labour, Employment, and Social Security, Rabindra Adhikari as Minister for Culture, Tourism, and Civil Aviation, Jagat Bishwokarma as Youth and Sports, Raghubir Mahaseth as Minister for Physical Infrastructure and Transportation, and Sher Bahadur Tamang as Minister for Law, Justice and Parliamentary Affairs.

Likewise, CPN (Maoist Centre)’s Barsaman Pun has been appointed as Minister for Energy, Water Resources and Irrigation, Giriraj Mani Pokharel as Minister for Education, Science and Technology, Shakti Basnet as Minister for Forest and Environment, Bina Magar as Minister for Drinking Water,  and Chakrapani Khanal as Minister for Agriculture, Land Management and Cooperatives.

Similarly, CPN-UML's Gokul Baskota has been appointed as State Minister for Information and Communications, Padma Kumari Aryal as State Minister for Health and Population, Dhan Bahadur Buda as State Minister for Culture Tourism and Civil Aviation. CPN (Maoist Centre)'s Ram Kumari Chaudhary has been appointed as State Minister for Agriculture, Land Management and Cooperatives. PM Oli administered the oath to the newly appointed state ministers.

This is the third Cabinet expansion of Cabinet by PM Oli. CPN-UML Chair KP Sharma Oli had formed a three-member Cabinet after his appointment as the 39th Prime Minister of Nepal on February 15. PM Oli had appointed CPN-UML’s Lal Babu Pandit as Minister for Population and Environment, and CPN-UML’s Tham Maya Thapa as Minister for Women, Children and Social Welfare.

Earlier in the second expansion of his Cabinet, PM Oli had appointed CPN (Maoist Centre)’s Ram Bahadur Thapa as Minister for Home Affairs, CPN (Maoist Centre)’s Matrika Yadav as Minister for Industry, Commerce and Supplies, former governor Yabaraj Khatiwada as Minister for Finance, and CPN-UML’s Ishwor Pokharel as Defence Minister.


Published: 16-03-2018 19:04

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment

Main News