NSJF announces Sports Award for June 18

- Post Report, Kathmandu

Apr 11, 2018-

Nepal Sports Journalist Forum (NSJF) is organising the annual NSJF Pulsar Sports Award at the Army Officers’ Club in Kathmandu on June 18.

The annual Sports Award honours sportsperson in eight categories—the player of year male and female, youth, coach, para-athlete, peoples’ choice, special and lifetime achievement. The winners of the male, female, coach and peoples’ choice will be rewarded with Pulsar NS motorbike while the winners of other four categories will be receive Rs 50,000 each, said the NSJF, an umbrella organisation of sports journalists, at a press conference on Tuesday.

The winners of the male, female, youth, coach and para-athlete awards will be determined on the basis of their performance and achievement throughout the year 2017-18 (2074 BS). Special awards will be handed over to an individual having special contribution/achievement to sports. Lifetime Achievement was be awarded for a long-term contributions to the sports.

A selection committee headed by Raju Ghising will in due course announce five nominees each in five categories—male, female, youth, coach and peoples’ choice—with the winners to be declared on the Award function. There won’t be nominations in other categories and winners will be disclosed on the award function. People’s Choice award will be decided through SMS voting Facebook likes.

Footballer Kiran Kumar Limbu (male), badminton’s Nangsal Devi Tamang (female), judoka Manita Shrestha Pradhan (youth), athletics’ Pushpa Raj Ojha (coach) and Kanchhi Maya Koju (peoples’ choice), blind cricket’s Padam Badela (para-athlete), Prisoners Assistant Mission (special) and golf’s Ghanashyam Thapa (lifetime achievement) were the winners of the last edition of the Award. Men’s national volleyball team was rewarded with Team of the Year award.

Meanwhile, NSJF also renewed sponsorship deal with Hansaraj Hulaschand & Company Pvt Ltd, the producer and distributor of Bajaj Motorbikes in Nepal, for eighth time in a row. Hansaraj Hulaschand will provide support worth Rs 2 million including Rs 1 million in cash and four Pulsar NS motorbikes for the Award. NSJF president Mahesh Acharya and Hansaraj Hulaschand director Abhimanyu Golchha signed the Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) on Tuesday.

Golchha said that Nepali sports has been going in positive direction recently and has played crucial role in uniting the country which has been affected by politics. “Athletes deserve recognition and this Award has served as a platform to provide recognition,” said Golchha adding that the company was pleased with its association with the programme. NSJF president Acharya said that the Award belongs to the sports fraternity rather than the NSJF.

Published: 11-04-2018 08:23

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment