Arts and Entertainment

Shrinkhala Khatiwada crowned Miss Nepal 2018

- Sanjaya Lama, Kathmandu

Apr 11, 2018-

Shrinkhala Khatiwada has been crowned Miss Nepal 2018 at the 23rd edition of the Hidden Treasure Miss Nepal pageant in Kathmandu on Wednesday evening.

A permanent resident of Hetauda, Khatiwada, 22, beat 24 contestants to win the coveted title.

An architect by profession, Khatiwada was crowned the winner by last year’s winner Nikita Chandak at a special ceremony held in Hotel Annapurna. Khatiwada will represent Nepal in the upcoming Miss World Pageant.

After winning the title, she posted a photo in her Instagram account. "Words are often inadequate to express my joy for your help. For sharing my dreams; for your invaluable help, support and patience, I say thank you all," she wrote in the caption. 

In the grand finale, Manita Devkota of Gorkha bagged the title of Miss Universe while Priya Sigdel of Kathmandu won the title of Miss Earth and Ronali Amatya, 22, was announced Miss International.

Devkota received the crown from Nagma Shrestha. She will represent Nepal in the Miss Universe.

Similarly, Sigdel received the crown from Miss Earth 2017 Rogina Shrestha. She will represent Nepal in the Miss Earth.

Likewise, Amatya received the crown from Miss Nepal International 2017 Niti Shah. She will represent Nepal in the Miss International.

Govinda Parajuli , a jury member, asked the final question in the last round of the competition. The question was: "What three tasks need to be performed to make prosperous Nepal and happy Nepali?"

Khatiwada said that developing and creating job opportunities would be the first task to make Nepal prosperous and make peoply happy. Secondly, she said investment on entrepreneurship and thirdly, she said we should love and care the nature we have. Lastly, she said we Nepali should define Nepal as not three crore population but three crore minds with creativity and innovation.

Shrinkhala Khatiwada bagged the title of Beautiful Hair as well while Sahara Lama won the title of Miss Friendship, Mahima Singh, Ashma Dhungana, Ronali Amatya, Manita Devkota and Astha Sakh won the title of Miss Photogenic, Miss Intellectual, Miss Talent, Miss Glamour and Miss Confident respectively.

Likewise, Laxmi Paudel won the title of Miss Punctual whereas Ashma Dhungana bagged the title of Miss Athlete, Megha Shrestha,  Sandhya Adhikari  and Priya Sigdel won the title of Miss Fascino, Miss Popular Choice and Beauty With The Purpose.

Sunil Shakya, Bhawana Ghimire, Rabindra Mishra, Ashishma Nakarmi, Shreehar Rana, Pratistha Amatya Bista, Deepak Bista, Nikita Paudel, Ivana Manandhar and Raju Shah were the members of the jury.

List of Miss Nepal from 1994-2017

Ruby Rana-1994

Sumi Khadka-1995

Poonam Ghimire-1996

Neelima Gurung-1997 (Miss Nepal)

Jharana Bajracharya-1997 (Miss World Nepal)

Niru Shrestha-1998

Shweta Singh-1999

Usha Khadgi-2000

Malvika Subba-2002

Priti Sitaula-2003

Payal Shakya-2004

Sugarika KC-2005

Sitasma Chand-2007

Zenisha Moktan-2009

Sadichha Shrestha-2010

Malina Joshi-2011

Shristi Shrestha-2012

Ishani Shrestha-2013

Subin Limbu-2014

Evana Manandhar-2015

Asmee Shrestha-2016

Nitika Chandak-2017


Published: 11-04-2018 22:50

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment