Team Chauraha the champions

  • dhangadhi premier league
- Adarsha Dhakal, Dhangadhi

Apr 14, 2018-

Sompal Kami’s Team Chauraha Dhangadhi claimed the second consecutive title of the Dhangadhi Premier League (DPL) Twenty20 cricket tournament defeating Kathmandu Goldens by 21 runs in a high-scoring final at the SSP grounds on Friday.

Electing to bat first, a record century partnership between opener Sunil Dhamala and No 3 batsman Rohan Mustafa guided Chauraha to 181-4 in 20 overs. Goldens fought fire with fire and remained in hunt until a crucial penultimate over from Mustafa reduced them to 160-8 in 20 overs.

Goldens needed 27 runs from the last 12 balls which initially looked possible on the flat pitch but Mustafa bowled Sunny Patel (12) in the second ball and Rashid Khan in the sixth and doing so only conceding four runs. Lalit Singh Bhandari, tournament’s Most Valuable Player, sealed the victory giving away just one run in the final over affecting one run out.

Chauraha had claimed the inaugural edition of DPL under national team skipper Paras Khadka last year. The victory earned them Rs 2.5 million as runners-up Goldens received Rs 1 million. It was left-arm seamer Bhandari who had provided the impetus in defence of the total after he bowled Subodh Bhati (five), tournament’s fastest half century scorer, in the second over.

Opener Amit Shrestha kept Goldens in the chase with a 52-run stand for the second wicket with Pushpa Thapa (15) before both batsmen lost their wickets in a space of 19 runs. Shrestha struck his second half century scoring 58 off 39 with seven fours and three sixes. Skipper Gyanendra Malla and Naresh Budhayer (19) tried to rebuild the innings with a 36-run fourth wicket stand. Bhandari returned and bowled Malla for 30. He hit two sixes and a four in his 27-ball knock.

With asking rate creeping up, Sunny Patel smashed two sixes and a four to leave the game evenly poised as Goldens needed 27 runs from the last 12 balls. But man-of-the-match Mustafa completely shifted the momentum towards Chauraha in the penultimate over. Bhandari took 3-22 and finished as tournament’s leading wicket-taker with 14 scalps. Mustafa took 2-42 for a total of nine wickets. 

Earlier, Chauraha lost their UAE recruit and opener Ashfaq Ahmed (4) with 12 runs on the board. However, Dhamala and Mustafa put on 142 runs for the second wicket to lead Chauraha to a winning total. Both the batsmen initially dealt in singles and doubles before cutting lose in the latter stages. Dhamala notched up 78 off 63 balls with eight boundaries and three sixes. Mustafa scored 60 off 42 with four sixes and as many boundaries. Bhati took two wickets for Goldens.

Skipper Kami said their title triumph went as planned. “We were assessing the pitch and though that we can push the team beyond 180. Rohan and Dhamala batted exceptionally well and the bowlers did their job as required,” said Kami.

Bhandari proves his point

Left-arm seamer Lalit Singh Bhandari came into DPL after spending time in the dugouts during Nepal’s last two big international tournaments. He was drafted in after impressing in the ICC World Cricket League Championship matches against the UAE but remained in the dugout when Nepal played the ICC World Cricket League Division 2 in Namibia and ICC World Cup Qualifiers in Zimbabwe.

DPL found Bhandari as the most successful bowler finishing as the highest wicket-taker with 14 scalps and walked away with a golden boot as the Most Valuable Player award. Bhandari knew the importance winning the MVP. “It feels really great to get an honour that shows your worth for the team. I had to spend my time in dugouts in the last two outings for the national team. So I was looking for a platform where I could prove myself. Its great to enjoy such a platform, even more so at my home ground,” said Bhandari.


Team Chauraha Dhangadi 181-4 (S Dhamala 78, R Mustafa 60; S Bhati 2-17, S Patel 1-27) beat Kathmandu Goldens 160-8 (A Shrestha 58, G Malla 30; L Bhandari 3-22, R Mustafa 2-46) by 21 runs in the final

Man-of-the-match: R Mustafa


MVP: Lalit Bhandari (Chauraha) 

Man-of the series: R Mustafa (Chauraha)

Man-of-the-final: R Mustafa  (Chauraha)

Cash Prizes

Champions Chauraha: Rs 2.5 million

Runners-Up Goldens: Rs 1 million

Third-placed United: Rs 300,000

Fourth-placed Attariya: Rs 200,000


Published: 14-04-2018 08:48

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment