City authority designates six areas for public assemblies

- Post Report, Kathmandu

Apr 16, 2018-

The Kathmandu District Administration Office has designated six places where people can organise assemblies and rallies. As per the statement issued by the DAO on Sunday, public gatherings, rallies and demonstrations can only be held in Khullamanch, Koteshwor-Tinkune ground, Bhuikhel Chaur, Pepsicola ground, Sano Gaucharan, Lainchaur ground and Sifal ground. 

The areas were designated by Friday’s meeting of the District Security Committee in line with the Reform Roadmap prepared by the Ministry of Home Affairs.

The decision will come into effect on April 29. From then onwards, organising demonstrations in non-designated areas will be prohibited. 

Ratnapark, Bhadrakali, Maitighar Mandala and New Baneshwor were popular areas for organising rallies until now.        

Published: 16-04-2018 08:08

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment