Clinical Army make short work of APF

- Post Report, Kathmandu

Jun 6, 2018-

Tribhuvan Army Club (TAC) prevailed in a departmental duel to finish Group ‘A’ winners of the Prime Minister Cup One-Day National Cricket Tournament on Tuesday.

In a match reduced to 40 overs due to wet outfield, TAC rode on half centuries from opener Anil Mandal and skipper Binod Bhandari to beat Nepal Armed Police Force (APF) Club in their last league game. TAC remained unbeaten with eight points from four matches and APF, who were already in the semis, followed them as runners-up.

The two teams are yet to learn their semi-final opponents after Nepal Police Club (NPC)’s six-wicket victory over Province 3 in another shortened game at the Mulpani Cricket Ground left a three-way tie ahead of last day of league on Wednesday.

NPC lead the table on net run-rate with five points from three matches after they were tied on points with Province 5 and Province 7. Province 5 and NPC meet in the only match of Wednesday where only a huge-margin defeat for either side can give Province 7 an outside chance to qualify for the last four.

The Armymen’s dominating display was the toast of the day after a solid batting performance from top four batsmen took them to 228 all out in 40 overs. APF did make a modest start but were dismissed for 158 in 32.5 overs.

Subash Khakurel (22) and Anil Sah (25) began with a 42-run first wicket stand before two wickets from Sagar Pun and one each from Sushan Bhari Shrestha and Shahab Alam reduced them to 63-4 in 14.4 overs. Rohit Kumar Paudel (28) and Bhuwan Karki (26) kept APF in the game with a 45-run stand but APF went through another mini collapse losing three wickets in a space of 14 runs.  Amar Singh Routela top-scored  with a 16-ball 29. Sompal Kami took 3-37, while Bhari, Sagar and Shahab took two wickets apiece.

Earlier, Sagar and Anil put on 77 runs for the first wicket. Sagar scored 46 from 55 balls with three sixes and as many fours before falling to Prithu Baskota. Mandal shared another 82-run stand for the second wicket with Naresh Budhayer (37).

Man-of-the-match Anil scored 72 off 99 balls. Bhandari then notched up tournament’s fastest fifty, achieved in just  22 balls. Bhandari struck five sixes in 23 balls and fell to spinner Basanta Regmi. Bhuwan took 3-44 from four overs for APF.

The match in Mulpani was reduced to 20 overs and Province 3 made a challenging 137-9. They reduced NPC to 25-3 in four overs but a match winning 110-run stand between Aarif Sheikh and opener Sunil Dhamala guided the NPC to 138-4 in 19.5 overs.

Man-of-the-match Aarif made a 66 from 54 balls with six boundaries and two sixes. Sunil was unbeaten on 50 from 46 balls hitting 50 from 46 with three maximums and two boundaries. Province 3 innings was built around two Sonu Tamang (48) and Aadil Khan (45).



Prime minister cup cricket

Tribhuvan Army Club 228 all out in 40 overs (AK Mandal 72, B Bhandari 50; B Karki 3-44, K KC 1-36) beat Nepal Armed Police Force Club 158 all out in 32.5 overs (AS Routela 29 not out, RK Paudel 28; S Kami 3-37, SB Shrestha 2-17) by 70 runs;

Man-of-the-match: AK Mandal


Nepal Police Club 138-4 in 19.5 overs (A Sheikh 66, S Dhamala 50 not out; R Srivastav 2-32, K Mahato 1-29) beat Province 3 137-9 in 20 overs (S Tamang 48, A Khan 45; R Giri 3-25, LS Bhandari 2-25) by six wickets; Man-of-the-match: A Sheikh

Published: 06-06-2018 09:01

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment