Wheelchair basketball: WWBA, WSA set title clash

- POST REPORT, Kathmandu

Jun 17, 2018-

Women Wheelchair Basketball Association (WWBA) and Wheelchair Sports Association (WSA) have set the title date of the Turkish Airlines Engage Empowering League (EEL) Wheelchair Basketball Championships finishing the league round as the winners and the runners up on Saturday.

At the St Xavier’s College in Maitighar, WWBA defeated Bodhisatwas In Action (BIA) 17-12 in their last match to maintain 100 percent winning streak in the league. Laxmi Ghimire contributed five points for the winners as they finished with maximum eight points from four matches. WSA, who registered twin victories on Saturday, finished with six points. WSA earned a comfortable 17-9 win over BIA in their penultimate match before edging Nepal Spinal Cord Injury Sports Association (NSCISA) 10-2. Jyoti Aryal stole the show for WSA in both of the matches scoring 13 points over BIA and four points over NSCISA.

NSCISA finished fourth in the league after they earned first victory with a narrow 4-2 win over Jawalakhel Wheelchair Sports Club (JWSC). Laxmi Kunwar contributed all four points for NSCISA. They will meet BIA—four points—in the third place playoff.  JWSA finished pointless.

In the men’s event, Tribhuvan Army Club and JWSC have already fixed the title clash as the winners and runners up. Army had registered victories in all eight league matches while JWSC had finished runners up with their only defeat coming against Army. BIA, who defeated WSA in their last league match on Saturday finished third with 12 points, four points behind Army and two behind JWSC. BIA thrashed WSA 24-2 on a back of 11 points of Bishnu Shrestha. They will vie

with Pokhara (10 points) in the third place playoff.

In other matches of the day, NSCISA registered twin victories. They edged Spinal Cord Injury Rehabilitation Centre (SCIRC) 19-16 and WSA 17-4. Dinesh Khatri contributed 11 points in their win over SCIRC and Laxman Magar scored six points over WSA. NSCISA (eight points), WSA (six points), SCIRC (four points), Chitwan (two points) and Nepalgunj (pointless) finished fifth to ninth respectively. The final and third place playoff match of both men’s and women section will be played on June 30.

Published: 17-06-2018 09:53

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment