Province 4 named Gandaki; Pokhara Capital


Jul 6, 2018-

Province 4 has been named as Gandaki from today. A meeting of the Provincial Assembly held on Friday endorsed the proposal to name the province as Gandaki was endorsed by a two-thirds majority.

Of the 56 provincial lawmakers, 54 voted for the proposal and two other lawmakers from Naya Shakti Party voted against it.

Earlier, a committee formed to study possible name and capital of Province 4 based on feedback collected from people had floated four names—Gandaki, Tamuwan Magarat, Gorkha and Dhaulagiri.

On Monday, a Provincial Assembly meeting approved Pokhara as permanent capital of Province 4.

The committee, headed by senior-most member Bindu Kumar Thapa, presented its report to the Provincial Assembly on Monday after conducting a study in all 11 districts.

Published: 06-07-2018 18:15

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment

Main News