RPL Twenty20 from Sept 17

- Post Report

Jul 21, 2018-

Omega Secondary School of Lalitpur is set to organise the Rautahat Premier League (RPL) Twenty20 cricket tournament on September 17 -26 in Garuda, Rautahat.

The 10-day event will be participated in by a total of 12 teams, who will be divided into four groups. The top two teams will qualify for the quarter-finals. Tribhuvan Army Club, Nepal Police Club, Omega Secondary School, Himalayan Cricket Academy, Nexus Academy, Rautahat Club, Lions Yuba Club, Oasis Academy, Royal PC Fighter, Malpokhari Cricket Academy and Nepal Cricket School are the participating teams.

In what will be the first high profile cricket tournament in the district, the champions will get Rs 350,000, while the runners-up will take home Rs 150,000. The man-of-the-series will get Rs 25,000 with the best batsman, bowler and emerging player getting Rs 10,000 apiece. The players hitting most sixes and most fours will also get Rs 8,000 and Rs 7,000 respectively.

Tournament co-ordinator Ankit Pratap Singh said the tournament has a sole objective of providing exposure to young cricketers. “This tournament is not devised as a commercial event. It has been planned for creating opportunities for young and aspiring cricketers of Rautahat to compete against experienced regional and national players so that they can get the exposure they have always wanted,” said Singh.

Omega School Vice Principal Pitambar Panta said organising the tournament in Rautahat as a school from Kathmandu has reasons. “We all know that Terai is a fertile place for the production of cricketers. We felt that the eastern part of Nepal has not seen such big tournaments and we decided to take it to Rautahat. We want to organise it in the Far-west in our next attempt and hopefully contribute to Nepali cricket,” said Panta.

Published: 21-07-2018 09:08

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment