Late Puspalal given highest national honour

- Post Report, Kathmandu

Sep 19, 2018-

The late Puspa Lal Shrestha, founding general secretary of Nepal Communist Party, has been posthumously awarded the Nepal Ratna, the highest civilian honour given to a Nepali.

Former Prime Minister BP Koirala, Girija Prasad Koirala, the then UML General Secretary Madan Bhandari were the earlier recipient of the Nepal Ratna in the past.

The government on Wednesday announced the honours, decorations and awards to 518 personalities of various walks of life on the occasion of Constitution Day.

According to Home Ministry, politician Gajendra Narayan Singh (posthumously) and noted musician Ambar Gurung (posthumously), centenarian Satya Mohan Joshi and Rastrakavi Madhav Ghimire have been named for the Mahaujjwal Rastradeep (first class) Award.

Newly appointed Chief Justice Om Prakash Mishra has been named for Supradsiddha Janasewa Shree (First Class). Likewise, historian Dr Bal Krishna Pokharel, and culture expert Jagman Gurung will be conferred with Ujjwal Kirtimaya Rastradeep (second class).

Dinesh Hari Adhikari, singer and artist Hari Prasad Rimal (posthumously) and historian Prof Dinesh Raj Panta have been named for Sukirtimaya Rastradeep (third class).

Jhamak Kumari Ghimire, the writer of the Madan prize-winning book 'Jeevan Kanda ki Phool', has been named as the recipient of Kirtimaya Rastradeep (fourth class).

Government secretaries, senior Army, Police and Armed Police officials, National Intelligence Department personnel, civil servants, journalists, social workers, artistes, ambassadors, doctors and professors are also on the list.

Journalists Shiva Gaunle, Tirtha Koirla, Shreeom Prasad Shrestha have been declared recipients of the Suprawal Janasewa Shress (third class). Likewise, journalists Min Ratna Bajracharya, Raghu Mainali, Gopal Budhathoki, Gopal Thapaliya, Madhav Bidrohi, Pratap Bista, Nirmala Sharma, Devendra Chudal, Ujir Magar, Ravi Singh Dhami, Punya Paudel and Gopal Changchha Rai will get Prabal Janasewa Shree (fourth class).

According to Home Ministry list, a total of 96 has been named for Suprabal Janasewa Shress (third class) while 162 for Prabal Janasewa Shree (fourth class).Six army officials have been named for the Param Bhaskar Gaurav, only conferred to Nepal Army. 

Published: 19-09-2018 20:41

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment

Main News