Puspalal gets Nepal Ratna honour

- Post Report, Kathmandu

Sep 20, 2018-

The late Puspa Lal Shrestha, founding general secretary of the Nepal Communist Party, has been posthumously awarded Nepal Ratna, the highest civilian honour given to a Nepali.

Former Prime Minister BP Koirala, Girija Prasad Koirala, the then UML General Secretary Madan Bhandari were the recipients of the award in the past.

The government on Wednesday announced the honours, decorations and awards to 518 personalities from different walks of life on the occasion of Constitution Day.

According to the Home Ministry, politician Gajendra Narayan Singh (posthumously) and noted musician Ambar Gurung (posthumously), centenarian Satya Mohan Joshi and Rastrakavi Madhav Ghimire have been named for the Mahaujjwal Rastradeep (first class) Award.

Newly-appointed Chief Justice Om Prakash Mishra has been named for Supradsiddha Janasewa Shree (First Class). Likewise, historian Dr Bal Krishna Pokharel, and culture expert Jagman Gurung will be conferred with Ujjwal Kirtimaya Rastradeep (second class).

Dinesh Hari Adhikari, singer and artist Hari Prasad Rimal (posthumously) and historian Prof Dinesh Raj Panta have been named for Sukirtimaya Rastradeep (third class).

Jhamak Kumari Ghimire, the writer of the Madan prize-winning book ‘Jeevan Kanda ki Phool’, has been named for Kirtimaya Rastradeep (fourth class).

Also on the list for the awards are government secretaries, senior Nepal Army, Nepal Police and Armed Police Force officials, National Intelligence Department personnel, civil servants, journalists, social workers, artistes, ambassadors, doctors and professors.

Journalists Shiva Gaunle, Tirtha Koirala, Shree Om Prasad Shrestha have been named for the Suprawal Janasewa Shress (third class). Likewise, journalists Min Ratna Bajracharya, Raghu Mainali, Gopal Budhathoki, Gopal Thapaliya, Madhav Bidrohi, Pratap Bista, Nirmala Sharma, Devendra Chudal, Ujir Magar, Ravi Singh Dhami, Punya Paudel and Gopal Changchha Rai will get Prabal Janasewa Shree (fourth class).

According to the Home Ministry, a total of 96 people have been named for Suprabal Janasewa Shress (third class) and 162 for Prabal Janasewa Shree (fourth class). Six Army officials have been named for the Param Bhaskar Gaurav.

Published: 20-09-2018 08:01

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment