'Sudurpaschim' recommended as name of Province 7, Godawari Capital

- Post Report, Kathmandu

Sep 25, 2018-

A special advisory committee formed by the Province 7 Assembly to recommend the name and capital of the province has proposed ‘Sudurpaschim’ as the province name and ‘Godawari’ of Kailali as its capital.

Discussion over the proposal will start at the Province Assembly from Wednesday.

The capital has been proposed at the public place in the northwest of Teghari Barrack of Nepal Army and in the west from Dhangadhi-Dadeldhura road section of Godawari Municipality-4, Kailali district. The proposed place is forest area and is 20 km away from Dhagadhi and around 4 km away from Attariya.

Though many people had floated their opinions while collecting the suggestions, most of them had suggested Sudurpaschim as the province name, Committee Coordinator Tara Lama said. The name was proposed based on their suggestions, Lama added.

The committee has proposed to carry out daily government works from temporary capital Dhangadhi until the physical infrastructure of the proposed capital is prepared.

The committee said the name of province and its capital were proposed as per the suggestions of various sectors and following various standards.

The main opposition Nepali Congress (NC), however, has said that the recommendation regarding the capital was not appropriate.

Parliamentary Party leader Rana Bahadur Rawal said, “We want Dhangadhi to be the capital of province 7 or if it is to be shifted then Diyapal should be the capital.”

Rawal said that his party would not support the proposal.

Some of the lawmakers of ruling party have also expressed their dissatisfaction over the committee’s proposal.

According to the Province Assembly calendar, discussion over the proposal will start from Wednesday.

It has been said that the discussion over the proposal will be completed within three-four days.

According to Article 288 (2) of the constitution, there is a provision that the two-thirds majority can fix the name and capital of the province. Nepali Communist Party (NCP) has two-thirds majority in Province 7.

Province Assembly member Chun Kumari Chaudhary, Bal Dev Regmi, Prem Prakash Bhatta and Shyam Lal Rana are the member of the committee formed by the speaker under the headship of NCP Chief Whip Tara Lama on July 30.

Though seven-day deadline was given to the committee for the first time, the committee has extended the deadline for three times.

The committee has handed over the proposal report to speaker Arjun Bahadur Thapa on August 21.

Published: 25-09-2018 18:52

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment