Nepal become champion of ICC World Twenty20 Asia Qualifier 'B' tournament

- Post Report, Kathmandu

Oct 12, 2018-

Nepal became the champion of the ICC World Twenty20 Asia Region Qualifier ‘B’ cricket tournament after defeating Singapore in a rain-affected match on Friday.

Both the team had 10 points each prior to the last match of the round robin league. But Nepal became the champion on the basis run rate after the match against Singapore was spoilt due to rain.

In the match played at the Bayumas Oval in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia on Friday, Nepal bowled out Singapore in 17.3 overs for 81 runs. Nepal had won the toss and invited Singapore to bat first.

Nepali leg spinning sensation Sandeep Lamichhane took highest four wickets for Nepal while Sompal Kami and Karan KC claimed two wickets each. Lalit Rajbansi and Basanta Regmi took one wicket each.

The rain spoilt the match when Nepal lost a wicket by scoring one run off three balls. Opener Anish Sah was out for duck.

Of the seven countries, Nepal, Singapore and Malaysia had already secured their berth for the second round of the Asia Qualifiers.

Published: 12-10-2018 14:03

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment